Homage to An Inner Voice: Remembering Pelle Andersson

IMG_20150810_181105

Introduction

It was one of the last Friday afternoons of the school year in June and I was relieved to put another one in the books, marking the countdown to summer holidays – and that’s when the email arrived. The Waveworks staff informed me and their patients that Pelle Andersson, a naturopath practitioner who had changed my life, had passed away. (Later I learned that he had died of cancer quietly and valiantly trying to heal himself through conventional and alternative means.) Pelle at 46 – I thought he was in his 30’s – was not only the healthiest person I knew, but his bioresonance therapy and advice had moved me from a state of chronic sickness to progressively vibrant health. I attended his funeral the following Tuesday not knowing who would show up, only to find St. John’s Cathedral nearly filled with many of his patients who also came to pay their last respects to him.

Yesterday I was once again describing how the Waveworks clinicwwstaff308 that Pelle (on the far right below) had cofounded, a bioresonance therapy here in Hong Kong, enabled me to heal from years of sickness. I completed the story saying that the saddest part for me was that I never got a chance to express my gratitude. My listener, the librarian at our school, attended to my story with visible empathy, and then gently prodded me, “How do you know he can’t hear you now?” And so it is a night later that I find myself writing.

A Word of Gratitude

Dear Pelle,

What I wished I could have said is that you have no idea the impact you had on my life and, I assume, the lives of many others. I came to Waveworks in May, 2012 as a desperately sick person. I had been ill since January with a chronically compromised immune system. I sensed that there must be some way to heal myself with healthy food, but I honestly had no idea where to turn. And then my chiropractor handed me your card and I immediately booked the next available appointment that afternoon.

From the first moment, your bioresonance technology and advice began to shift my physical, emotional, and even spiritual life. Physically, my body responded to the treatment within a week – a long-term rash just went away. Emotionally, my decade-long search for “what’s wrong with me?!” came to rest in comprehension and an ability to do something to help myself. And spiritually, I began to learn about energy medicine, which has prompted a slew of new interests: kinesiology, kundalini and chakra healing, essential oils, plant intelligence and herbal remedies. It also coincided with a commitment to meditation for the first time in my life, and the first of several hugely important spiritual retreats with my teacher Cynthia, whom I told you all about. A propitious moment indeed!

Although the path to recovery has been far from smooth, the direction has never been inIMG_20150813_181448 doubt. I have slowly learned how to restore health to a body that I worried was beyond repair. Your bioresonance therapy changed my life – and my families. I brought my parents for just one treatment, and my Dad, who followed your advice faithfully, lost 40 pounds in three months without trying. I was talking to a close friend who said the same: her 8 treatments brought her to a level of health that she had not experienced in many years, which she then passed onto her family through her food choices. When I told her that you had changed my life, she simply said, “Me too.”  I assume many people who showed up for your funeral came out of gratitude for this gift of life.

You asked me to write a testimonial for the office, so you’ve heard this before, but I repeat it her as a short summary of this life change:

“I expect that in years to come I will look back and see coming to Waveworks as a turning point in my life. For more than ten years my health had been in serious decline to the point that I had become chronically sick, and feared that I might live a shorter life than I had expected. In the midst of anxiety and near panic, I was given a tip about visiting Waveworks. From the first appointment, I could feel my body responding to something that it was desperately searching for. In time, I came to understand that a combination of nutritional deficiency, allergies and heavy metal poisoning had lowered my immune system to a threadbare point. The Waveworks team gave me just the right combination of bioresonance treatment, nutritional supplements, and health advice to revive my health. Now a little more than a year after my first visit, I eat a very healthy and balanced diet, my allergies have disappeared, and the mercury and lead are completely out of my system. For the first time in many years, I can start my school year as a teacher feeling that my health is an asset rather than a liability as I seek to serve my students. I’m very grateful to Waveworks for not only a return of my health, but also for a much better understanding of what is needed to maintain one’s health under the stresses and strains of modern day life.”

Pelle, I continue to teach my classes with the energy that you gave me through your treatments. Next week I will once again teach my “Service, Society, and the Sacred” many of the lessons you shared with me. I also want to thank you for shutting down your business once a semester for the last several years to host my students’ visits to share with them the power of nutrition.

I want you to know that the real reason I’m writing this entry, however, is that I really didn’t fully appreciate what you gave me until your early and unexpected departure. Since your funeral, I have realized that so much of the nutritional advice in my head is clearly in your voice:

  • Start your day with a lemon – it sets the body into alkaline mode.
  • Every morning pack a smoothie with as many high-IMG_20160224_115546density nutrients as possible.
  • Soak your chia and flax seeds in water overnight to germinate them for your smoothie.
  • Limit sugar intake to manage candida.
  • Throw out your white rice!

We had many many conversations in my 100+ visits to Waveworks over the last 5 years. Not only was my body getting a treatment but I was also learning so much about how to take care of all parts of myself through my visits. As a teacher in the classroom every day, growth in understanding is of inestimable value to me. Visiting Waveworks has been a time of great intellectual exploration and growth for me, and I owe that to you.

Pelle, your dedication to bioresonance treatment changed my life, my friend’s life, and my father’s, but only one of us could attend your funeral. How many people who attended – and could not attend – are so deeply grateful for the gift of life we received from you? In lieu of saying this before your passing, I post this entry in hopes of expressing my gratitude – and releasing my grief.  I will continue to dedicate my work to my students, teaching them how to be healthier individuals in body, mind and heart.

In Health and Gratitude,

Marty

IMG_20150813_181410

The bioresonance machine that diagnoses energetic disharmonies and provides electromagnetic treatment to patients.

Conclusion

Apart from working through my own grief, this blog entry has served as reminder to pay attention to those voices in my head of those who have deeply impacted me. Whether those voices come from parents, teachers, mentors, siblings, friends, or even relatively brief encounters with acquaintances, some are of such enduring value that they guide me through life inflection points, which, as in this case, may be only recognized clearly in retrospect. I did not fully identify nor express my gratitude for Pelle’s guiding voice in my head; it is hoped that this belated post will make some compensation for this. Meanwhile, I need to consider who are those living people that even now speak and inspire and provoke and guide that I can thank while they are still in our midst. It’s the right thing to do.

IMG-20150724-WA0000

About martinschmidtinasia

I have served as a humanities teacher at Hong Kong International School since 1990, teaching history, English, and religion courses. Since the mid-1990's I have also come to assume responsibility for many of the school's service learning initiatives. My position also included human care ministry with the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod in Hong Kong, southern China, and others parts of Asia from 1999-2014. Bringing my affluent students into contact with people served by the LCMS in Asia has proved to be beneficial to students and our community partners alike. Through these experience I have become committed to social conscience education, which gives students the opportunity to find their place in society in the context of challenging global realities.
This entry was posted in inner awakening, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homage to An Inner Voice: Remembering Pelle Andersson

  1. Pingback: Be Healthier Today: Recovering the Intelligence of Your Body | Social Conscience and Inner Awakening

  2. Pingback: Health and Wholeness: Turning Points Two Years On | Social Conscience and Inner Awakening

Leave a comment